The Stars and Stripes at 200

The American flag is over two centuries old, of course, but it was on this day, 4/4, in 1818 which saw,

Congress’s formal adoption of the current “design” – 13 stripes representing the union’s original 13 states, and a changing number of stars representing the current states.

The current design, which has fifty stars, dates from 4th July 1960. The 50th state is Hawaii.

There were only fifteen stars on this day 200 years ago representing the original thirteen states plus the addition of Vermont and Kentucky.

Can you name the original 13 states, or colonies?* All 50 current state flags are available from our online shop!

Connecticut, Delaware, Georgia, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Virginia